September 8th, 2014

Today I started the Photoshop CC One-on-One: Intermediate course on Lynda.com. I finished chapters 11-12.

 

Before:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To fix this butterfly’s wing I first selected the lasso tool and then I drew a circle around the damaged area. Then, I selected the patch tool. I clicked and held to move the selected area to a better area of the wing. This basically just duplicated a good part of the wing and transferred it over the damaged part. 

 

Before:

Woman in grass

After:

Woman in grassks

For this photo I selected around the lady using the rectangular marquee tool. I clicked the  Content-aware move tool then I clicked in the selected area and moved the lady up about halfway. This edit didn’t turn out too well because of the little tiny flowers that were copied from the top to put in place of the lady. 

 

Before:

skd187562sdc

After:

skd187562sdc

To extend this block of grass I selected the content  aware move tool the selected around the right side of the block. I click and hold the selected area, then move it over by dragging right while holding the shift key. Lastly, I changed the adaptation setting to 5. 

 

Before:

File number: 3110229

After:

File number: 3110229

 

To change this photo from portrait to landscape I went to the edit menu and selected content aware scale. I then clicked the upper right corner and moved that corner down and to the right until it clicked into place. I reduced the height by clicking the right corner and bringing it all the way down to the horizontal guideline. Then I moved the right side over to the first vertical guideline and clicked enter. I went back up to the edit menu, clicked content aware scale, then moved the right side farther over to the next guideline and clicked enter. I repeated that one more time. Then I went up to the Image pull down menu and selected the trim command. 

 

Before:

File number: 6328139

After:

File number: 6328139

For this photo I wanted to change it from landscape to portrait. I did this by going to the edit pull down menu then selecting content aware scale. After that I went up to the options panel where theres a little grid, I clicked the middle dot in the bottom row of the grid. Then in the options panel I changed the width to 81% and the height to 110%, pressed enter. Next, I went back to the edit pull down menu, clicked content aware scale, and clicked the bottom middle dot on the grid. I changed the width to 87% and the height to 120%, pressed enter. I did the same thing one more time but changed the width to 98% and the height to 118.34%. Lastly I went to the Image pull down menu and selected trim while making sure Transparent pixels was selected. 

 

Before:

Sundial at Saint-Rémy

After:

Sundial at Saint-Rémy

First, I clicked the “black and white” icon at the bottom of the right panel, then I clicked Levels. This brings up the histogram. in the histogram I simply clicked auto.

 

Before:

My two boys

After:

My two boys

First I made a copy of the photo by passing cmd+opt+j on the mac. I renamed this layer grey card. After that, I went to the Filter pull down menu selected Blur, then Average. Then I selected a small region using the rectangular marquee tool. I went to the Select pull down menu and selected Inverse, pressed the delete key, and pressed cmd+d.  I then clicked the “black and white” icon at the bottom of the layers panel and chose the levels command. Then I clicked the grey eyedropper and clicked on the grey square in the photo. I turned off the levels layer and clicked on the grey card layer. I went to the image pull down menu, chose adjustments, then selected hue/ saturation. I changed the saturation to -50% and pressed OK. Then I clicked the levels layer adjustment to make it active. I double-clicked its thumbnail. which brought the histogram back. I selected the grey eyedropper again and clicked the grey square. Then I turned off the grey card layer.

One comment on “September 8th, 2014

Leave a Reply

