September 23rd, 2014

Today I worked on chapters 18 and 19 on the Photoshop CC One-on-One: Intermediate course on Lynda.com.

 

Before:

 

cool water

 

After:

 

Martini Hour

 

 

I selected the rectangular marquee tool, then right clicked in the photo and selected duplicate layer. I renamed it glass and changed the folder to transformation template. I pressed Cmd+T and transformed the photo to fit the glass in the front.

 

Before:

Martini Hour

 

After:

Martini Hour

I clicked the eye icon next to the color layer to hide it. Then I clicked on the top glass layer, dropped down to the black and white icon and chose invert. I made the colors layer active then pressed cmd+shift+N. I called the new layer noise. I dialed in a Brightness value of 15 % then pressed option+delete. I right clicked and chose convert to smart object. I went to the filter pull down menu and chose noise then add noise.  Set the amount at 20%, distribution to Gaussian, and turn Monochromatic on. I went to the filter pull down menu, selected blur, gaussian blur, and set the radius value to 2 px. I pressed the option key clicked the black white icon and chose the levels command. I called the layer star maker and I turned on the checkbox for Use Previous Layer to Create Clipping Mask. I adjusted the blackpoint value to 55 the whitepoint to 65.  I clicked on the noise layer to make it active then pressed cmd+T. Clicked OK. I increased the width to 110 and pressed enter a couple of  times. I changed the blend mode from normal to screen. this brought the martini glasses back. I turned the text layers back on.

 

I also edited this photo.

Before:

aaoriginal

 

After:

aanew

One comment on “September 23rd, 2014

Leave a Reply

