September 30th, 2014

Today I took the Computer Fundamentals (Win 7) exam on Brainbench and earned a certification. After that I finished chapter 20 of the Photoshop CC One-on-One: Intermediate course on Lynda.com.

 

Before:

Swift Current

 

Black and White custom filter:

Swift Current

 

I went to the adjustment layer icon and chose black and white.  I changed the reds value to 10, the yellows to 110, the greens to 60, cyans to 10, and blues to -50.

Camera Raw:

Swift Current

 

I went to the file pull down menu and chose browse in bridge then I navigated to the 20 black white folder and right clicked on swift current lift.jpg and chose open in camera raw. I switched over to the HSL/ Grayscale panel and turned on the convert to grayscale option. I selected the target adjustment tool. I adjusted all of the color sliders: Reds: 15, Oranges: 15, Yellows: 100, Greens: 50, Aquas: -30, Blues: -40, Purples: 40, and Magentas: 40. I selected the split toning icon and adjusted the highlights sliders: Hue: 40, Saturation: 10. I adjusted the Balance slider to 65 and the shadows sliders: Hue: 210, Saturation: 10. I option+ clicked on the open copy feature.

 

I did some edits at home last night using the tools I’ve learned in class:

hotelbooksedit

The photo in the background is the album cover for the band Hotel Books. I got that image from google then changed the opacity to about 80%. I googled black rectangle and found one that I liked. I copy and pasted that to a new layer and used the free transform cmd to adjust the size and placement. I changed the opacity of the rectangle to about 30%. I selected the text tool and changed the color to white. I used a text size of 30pt (italic) and used caps lock to type the words but I can’t remember what font I used. I typed each sentence in a different layer so that I could individually move them to where I wanted in the rectangle. (The words are lyrics to the band’s song Constant Collapse.) I added a watermark using the text tool and changed the opacity of that to about 20%.

i dont need you

I got the paint splatter image off google and changed the opacity to about 80%. I used the text tool to type the words in bold with a font size of  24pt. I centered the text by clicking the center text icon. I added a watermark using the text tool and changed the opacity to about 18%.

hotelbooks2

First I changed the photo to black and white by using a black and white custom filter. Then I added the lyrics using the text tool. I used a font size of 18pt. I centered the text and changed the opacity to about 30%. Then I added the watermark using the text tool and changed the opacity to about 25%.

One comment on “September 30th, 2014

Leave a Reply

