January 20th, 2015

Today I finished chapter 3  and started chapter 4 of the Illustrator CC Essential Training course on Lynda.com.

apple_repeat

I opened an image of a single apple in Illustrator. I selected the apple artwork, then I click and hold the rotate tool and select reflect. With the reflect tool selected I got a little reference point as my cursor. I clicked where I want my reference tool then click and move the apple across the reference point.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 8.34.08 AM

 

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 8.39.22 AM

 

To make a reflected copy I hold down the option key while moving the apple.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 8.34.50 AM

 

Another way to do this is to right click, choose transform, then reflect. This would bring up a dialog box where you change the settings to what you want.

After that I learned about the shear tool which you can find if you click and hold the scale tool then go down and click shear tool. After selecting the tool just drag in the direction you want. You could hold down the shift key while dragging it so that its constrained, or you could hold down the option key and make a copy.

 

Click and drag:

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 8.47.42 AM

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 8.51.06 AM

Make copy:

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 8.50.39 AM

Skewing or shearing is just another way of transforming an object.

I opened another image in Illustrator:

 

 

 

 

 

alignment

I went to the window pull down menu and chose align. This brought up a little box with a bunch of different align and distribute options. I turned on align to art board option and selected all the circles. I clicked the vertical align bottom option and they all went to the bottom of the art board.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 9.07.03 AM

 

Then I clicked the horizontal distribute center option and they all spread out evenly across the dartboard.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 9.08.36 AM

Then I clicked the vertical align center option.

center-alignment

I go back to the original image. I select every circle. I click align to selection instead of align to art board. Then I click vertically align to bottom. This moves the circles down to the bottom edge of the lowest object that was in the set.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 9.21.36 AM

If I horizontally distribute them they’re going to do it based on this selection which means they won’t be as spread out as before.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 9.24.06 AM

 

One comment on “January 20th, 2015

Leave a Reply

