January 27th, 2015

Today I continued working on chapter 5 of the Illustrator CC Essential Training course on Lynda.com.

The fist thing I learned today was how to work with fills.

Start:

fills_start

I selected the outer line of the left ear. I turned off the stroke and changed the color to a dark pink. After that I clicked on another part, turned off the stroke, and chose another color for it and so on until I colored all of it. The guy in the video used blue and black but I chose to use pink instead.

Finish:

fills_finish

 

After that I learned about working with strokes.

Start:

strokes

When I moved my mouse into the starting image and clicked, there was the outline of a flower thing:

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 8.28.30 AM

I want to make it to where you notice the flower but the R is still the main focus. So what I have to do is add a stroke to the flower. What I have to do is go to the left panel and click stroke to activate it. Then I go to the swatches panel and choose a light blue. Its a little too bright and distracting so I go to the control panel, open the stroke panel, and take down the width of the stroke to .75pt.

strokes-middle

I increased the stroke of the flower to about 2pt. I selected the circle in the background and used the same light blue of the flower stroke to the stroke of the circle outline. I took the weight of the stroke up to 10. I went to the brushes panel, went down and clicked the library icon, I chose bristle brush, then opened the bristle brush library. I selected the liner brush. I increased the weight to 3pts. I changed the stroke of the flower to the same brush. I changed the stroke weight to 0.5. I also changed the opacity to 50%.

Finish:

strokes-finished

After that I learned how to make dashes and arrows. I opened a new document and selected the rectangular marquee tool. I held down the shift key while drawing a square. I selected the line tool and made two different sized lines.

start-square

I selected the square and gave it a fill color of blue then I changed the weight of the stroke to 10pts.

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 9.12.21 AM

I opened the stroke panel and clicked the option for dashed line. I changed the dash size to 30 pts.

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 9.14.05 AM

I selected the first line and gave it a stroke of 5 pts. I went to the dashed line options and changed the values to 30, 5, 20, 5, 50, 5.

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 9.18.51 AM

Now I want to add arrow heads so I looked right below the dash options and found the arrow head options. I chose arrow #5. I changed the scale to 75%. I clicked the option to extend the arrow head past the path. I added an arrow to the end of the path and made it equal to the first.

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 9.25.21 AM

 

I selected the second line and changed the stroke weight to 10pts. I went to the stroke panel and selected arrowhead #20 for the left. I selected arrow #16 for the right and chose to extend them past the path. I went to the object pull down menu and selected extend appearance to gain control of the paths that make up the tail and head of the new arrow.

square-finished

 

Next I learned how to create variable-width strokes.

I started with this image:

variable_width-start

I selected the top left petal and changed the stroke to a dark green. I selected the width tool and went to the middle of the outline and dragged outward until I reached a width of about 20. I did the same to the other side.

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 9.50.53 AM

In the next video I used the last image to learn to save a width profile so that I can use it for all the other outlines in my art. I selected the petal to the right of the one I’ve already changed. I changed the stroke to the dark green color. I clicked on the first petal, went to the stroke panel and clicked show options. I went to profiles pull down menu and selected add to profiles. I called the new profile green leaf and saved it. I selected all the petals, selected the dark green, selected profile and clicked green leaf. I changed the stroke to 20.

outline_stroke-finished

 

After that I learned about creating and editing gradients.

I started with this:

gradient_fillstart

I selected the image background targeted the fill by clicking on it. Then I selected the gradient fill. I went to the gradient dialog and selected a radial gradient. I changed the color of there gradient by clicking and dragging color from the swatches and adding it to the white swatch of the gradient slider. I brought a different color to the black swatch. I double clicked on the left swatch and changed the red slider to 179 and the green slider to 208. I double clicked the dark blue slider and changed the green value to 110. I created a new middle color to the gradient by clicking on the middle of the slider. I changed the red to 143 and the green to 180. To get rid of a slider you just click it and drag it away from the slider.

gradient_fillafter-wallpaper

If I wanted to add that gradient background to my swatches I’d just click it and drag it over to the swatches panel and drop it in. To name it I would double click it and name it. Then I’d be able to send the gradient out to use for other things.

 

 

 

One comment on “January 27th, 2015

Leave a Reply

