February 3rd, 2015

Today I finished chapter 5 and 6 of the Illustrator CC Essential Training course on Lynda.com.

I learned how to apply gradients to strokes starting with this image:

strokes

 

I selected the circle in the background. I added a gradient to the stroke by selecting the stroke in the left side panel and choosing a gradient from the swatches panel.I went up to the options panel and increased the stroke amount to 20pts. I clicked the gradient tab in the right side panel. I applied the gradient across the stroke. I moved the midpoint at exactly 50%. I took a light blue color from the swatches and dragged it onto the black slider. I added a light green to the other slider. I changed the opacity of that slider to 100%.

Finished:

gradient-strokes

 

After that I learned how to apply and edit pattern fills starting with this image:

patterns-start

I started off by selecting one of the pieces of art work and I copied it to the clip board by pressing cmd+c. I created a new dartboard by selecting the art board tool and drawing out a new art board. I switched back to the selection tool, clicked on the new art board and paste the piece of art work to the new art work. I grabbed a few more pieces of art work and made a pattern that I liked:

Screen Shot 2015-02-03 at 8.58.29 AM

When I was done I selected the entire peace of artwork, went to the object pull down menu and selected pattern, then make. In the dialogue box I changed the dim copies option to 30%. I turned on the show swatch bounds option. I gave the swatch pattern the name flower pinwheels. I changed the tile type to brick by column. I chose 5×5 for the copies option. I clicked done. I selected the original artwork and deleted it. I se;acted the star shape and clicked on the pattern that I just made in the swatch panel.

patterns-swatch-star

I watched the videos understanding paths, understanding anchor points, and open and closed paths. These videos were just going over some basics and didn’t really have anything for me to do.

I learned how to join and average paths starting with this image:

join_average-start

 

 

 

 

One comment on “February 3rd, 2015

Leave a Reply

