February 10th, 2015

Today I finished chapter 6 and started chapter 7 of the Illustrator CC Essential Training course on Lynda.com.

I learned how to use the scissors and knife tools.

Then I learned a little about the drawing modes that are available in Illustrator. This taught me about stacking order.

I opened this image:

shape_builder

Then I started with the two circles:

 

circles

First I went to the bottom of the tools panel and pressed shift+d. I chose to draw in normal drawing mode then drew another circle. it automatically went to the top of the stack.

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 9.31.52 AM

I pressed shift+d to switch drawing modes, then drew a smaller circle on top of the one I just drew. It appeared underneath it because the drawing mode was set to draw behind.

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 9.38.43 AM

 

Then I drew one in the back and it automatically went to the bottom of the stack.

5 circles

The last drawing mode allows you to place artwork inside of another piece of artwork. I selected the circle on the bottom left of my art board and switched to the draw inside mode. Then I zoomed out and clicked on the star shape and pressed cmd+c to copy it to my art board. I then clickd the circle and pressed cmd+v to paste in onto the circle.

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 9.56.09 AM copy

 

 

 

One comment on “February 10th, 2015

Leave a Reply

