February 17th, 2015

Today I continued chapter 7 of the Illustrator CC Essential Training course on Lynda.com.

The first thing I did was open the document. After that I selected the ellipse tool and I formed two circles. I changed the stroke of the circles to a blue color.

compound_shapes-circles

I made sure both circles were selected then I found the pathfinder tab in the right side panel and selected the option Unite.

 

compound_shapes-circles-unite

 

I undid that and went back to just the original two circles. I selected them and went back to the pathfinder tab and chose the option to minus front. This got rid of the object in front.

compound_shapes-minus-front

 

After that I pressed cmd+z to undo. I then selected the original two circles again and went to the pathfinder tab and selected intersect. This eliminated everything outside of the point where the two shapes intersect each other.

compound_shapes-exclude

I pressed cmd+z, selected both circles, went to the pathfinder tab and selected exclude. At first it looked like nothing really happened but then I reversed the fill and this is what happened:

compound_shapes-actually-exclude

After that I watched another video and learned how to work with the shape builder tool. I started with this document:

shape_builder

I zoomed in to the circles, selected them, then selected the shape builder tool. I clicked and dragged across the circles and by default this merged them.

circles merge

I pressed cmd+z to undo that. I selected the circles again and then selected the shape builder tool again, this time I pressed alt while I dragged across the front circle. This deleted what I dragged over.

Screen Shot 2015-02-17 at 9.13.59 AM

 

After that I moved over to the flower shaped piece of artwork:

Flower start

I selected the piece of artwork then selected the shape builder tool. I held down the alt key while dragging over parts of the art that I wanted to remove.

flower

 

After that I went over to the logo and zoomed in on it:

raa shape builder

I selected the  group, right clicked, and chose ungroup. Then I selected the R. I pressed shift and also selected the A. I selected the shape builder tool and dragged a line where the R and A intersect. This made the A a grey color.

RAA grey

Other than that it doesn’t really look like anythings changed but if I click the R and go into isolation mode you can see that the part where the R was behind the A is now gone.

isolationmode

 

One comment on “February 17th, 2015

Leave a Reply

