February 18th, 2015

Today I finished chapter 7 and started chapter 8 of the Illustrator CC Essential Training course on Lynda.com.

I started off with learning about working  with the paintbrush and pencil tools. The video just had me draw a few shapes and lines and showed me how to adjust some of the settings for each tool.

After that I learned about smoothing and erasing paths. The video had me draw a flower using the mouse.

flower-pencil

Then I selected the smooth tool and just drew around the petals of the flower, then the circle in the middle to smooth them.

flower-smooth

After that the video told me to add a stem and some leaves to the flower using the mouse.

flower-leaves

I grabbed the smoothing tool again and selected each leaf and drew around them to smooth them out. I also learned I could erase mistakes by using the path eraser tool.

finished-flower-smooth

 

After that I learned about the curvature tool and how it can manipulate shapes by changing, moving, adding and subtracting points.

After that I started chapter 8 and in this video I learned about the pen tool.

I started out with this image:

pentool_samples

I selected the vase artwork, went up to the effect menu, and clicked 3D. I chose revolve and in the options I turned the preview on.

pentool_samples-vace

After that I learned about using the pen tool then fixing the shape using the direct selection tool. I used it to draw a star:

Screen Shot 2015-02-18 at 10.09.49 AM

 

After that I watched a video teaching me how to make curves using the pen tool which was very difficult. i made a fish/whale looking thing:

Screen Shot 2015-02-18 at 10.23.31 AM

 

 

Leave a Reply

